top of page

Everything Everything Movie Review

Edited by Shanya Rod

Photo Courtesy of Google Images

I was instantly drawn to the previews of the new teen romance, Everything Everything. There was no doubt that I wouldn't be attracted to what seemed to be such an emotional, riveting movie.

However, I was mistaken.

Everything, Everything hit theaters May 19, 2017 with high expectations and a huge following of teenage girls who couldn't wait to see the young actress, Amandla Stenberg (who stole our hearts in The Hunger Games playing Rue), branch out and take on the role of Maddy in the movie. Maddy is an imaginative 18-year-old girl who is unable to leave her home because of an illness that would kill her if she was exposed to any outside viruses. Olly (who is played by Jurassic World’s Nick Robinson) is the handsome boy next door who instantly falls in love with the mysterious Maddy through the window. The attraction between the two only grows, and in the end, Maddy risks her own life in order to create adventure and experience everything she ever wanted to with Olly… with some unfortunate (yet predictable) consequences.

No spoilers here - so I simply cannot say much more (or I will definitely expose too much!) - but I was thoroughly disappointed. Though the chemistry between the two young actors was definitely prevalent, the story line was not clear by any means. The movie mistakenly led to a lot of dead ends in the plot, leaving both my mom and I questioning a lot of the outcomes. Questioning the outcome of any movie is actually quite rare because usually, movies are clear with their intentions and conclusions. They’re easy to follow. This, in short, was not.

“How could that have happened?”

“That doesn't make sense,”

and “why did that even occur?” are some key questions this movie left me wondering.

I have never been much of a movie critic, but I also know how to judge a movie. Perhaps my expectations were too high or the previews built it up to be something it wasn't, but I have seen plenty of romance movies in my life to know that all it takes to have a successful movie is to create a passionate, and somewhat realistic plot to capture the hearts of the viewers.

Unfortunately, Everything, Everything did not do that for me; but instead, did “Nothing, nothing” for me.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page